Collaborators
Collaborators let educators share the content they’ve created with other educators, so they can work on it together with the same level of control.
Collaborators allow educators to give other educators (that they have permission to see) access to content they have created, allowing them to manage and edit that content as if they were the owner.
When a user creates content (such as an exam or library item), they automatically become the owner.
Owners:
Have full control over the item
Can edit, manage, and delete it
Do not require additional permissions to manage their own content
This allows educators to independently create and manage their own work without needing elevated permissions.

Adding other users in as Collaborators gives them the same level of access as owners to content. This means teams can manage their own content without having to have global permissions to be able to set specific permissions or having to have multiple specific permissions set on every exam or content their team makes. Meaning simpler permission set up for this usecase

When to use Collaborators
A typical setup is a team of educators who each manage their own content:
Educators can create exams or library content independently
They automatically have full control over what they create
They can invite teammates as collaborators to help review or edit
This avoids the need to give educators higher-level permissions such as “set permissions”, while still enabling collaboration.
Collaborators are useful when:
You want to avoid over-permissioning users
Teams need to work together on specific content
Access needs to be temporary or limited in scope
You want to keep global permissions simple and controlled
How to add Collaborators
From the library content or exam details page, educators will see who the owner is, as well as any current collaborators. Click to add a collaborator either individually or by group.
The only users who can add collaborators to specific content or exams are:
Owners
Other collaborators
Admins / Managers
Users with edit access alone will not be able to add other educators to be collaborators.

Once added and changes saved, collaborators will see the item in their library and have full ownership access.

Last updated
Was this helpful?