1. How to create a new classroom
  2. Naming your classroom
  3. Classroom description
  4. Visibility - Open 
  5. Visibility - Closed
  6. Settings
    a. Students can invite others
    b. Students can add quizzes
    c. Enable dashboard

__________________________________________________________________

1. How to create a new classroom 

When logged in and on your homepage, click on 'Create a Classroom' in the side menu and this will lead to a 'New Classroom' pop up for you to enter the classroom details.

__________________________________________________________________

2. Naming your classroom

When naming your classroom, give it a name that will be easily recognisable to your students and separates it from other years or subjects e.g. 'Leeds Medicine Year 1' instead of just 'Leeds Medicine'.

__________________________________________________________________

3. Classroom Description

Add a description for your classroom so students know who the classroom is for and what sort of quizzes will be in the classroom.

__________________________________________________________________

4. Visibility - Open

If the visibility of a classroom is open:

  • Anyone can join the classroom without the need for a password.
  • The members and quizzes of the classroom can be viewed by anyone.
  • Students can invite their friends or peers.

When would I set the visibility of a classroom to be open?

  • If you are happy to share your classroom quizzes to help anyone on Synap who may benefit from them and learn!
  • If you want people to be able to view your classroom quizzes to decide on whether they think it is useful or relevant for them to join.

__________________________________________________________________

5. Visibility - Closed

If the visibility of a classroom is closed:

  • You will need to set a passcode to give to students so that they can join.- The passcode must not be personal to you (for example, a password to your email address or social media accounts) as you will need to give it out to others.- The passcode must not be easily guessed e.g. 'password' so people cannot randomly guess it.
  • To join the classroom, students will need to use this passcode.
  • If students can invite others, they will still need to use the passcode before they can join.
  • The classroom will still appear in searches (similar to private groups on Facebook), but people will not be able to see the quizzes or members of the classroom. 

When would I set the visibility of a classroom to be closed?

  • If you only want specific people to join.
  • If you want to keep your quizzes and members private.

__________________________________________________________________

6. Settings 

a. Students can invite others

Tick this: 

  • If you want to build up the number of students using your classroom (e.g. a student may invite a friend to your classroom if they think they will both benefit from the quizzes).
  • If you do not know everyone within your year group and do not have a way of contacting everyone so will rely on people inviting others.

Do not tick this: 

  • If you already know the specific people you want to invite into the classroom (e.g. a high school class).
  • If you do not want people from other years or subjects to be invited. 
  • If you do not want other Synap users to join.
  • If you will be inviting students through sending a passcode via email. 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

b. Students can add quizzes

Tick this: 

  • If you want students to pool together to create a big community bank of quizzes - students can add their own created quizzes or saved quizzes that they feel are relevant to the classroom.
  • If you do not want to be the main provider of quizzes.

Do not tick this:  

  • If you are responsible for being the main provider of quizzes or responsible for imparting knowledge e.g. a teacher.
  • If you think your students would not make high-quality quizzes or would share relevant quizzes.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

c. Enable dashboard

It is important that you carefully decide on whether you want to enable the dashboard or not before you create the classroom as you cannot change the dashboard settings at a later time.

For example, if you have disabled the classroom dashboard but after one week you want to enable the dashboard to see how students are doing, you would not be able to. In this case, you would need to create a new classroom and enable the dashboard or leave your current classroom dashboard as it is.

Tick this:

  • If you would like to analyse the results of your students and monitor their progression.
  • Students agree to you being able to see their results as they join the classroom. 
  • If the dashboard is enabled in an open classroom, only the classroom creator would be able to see the results - students will not be able to see the results of other students.
  • Ideal for teacher-student classrooms.

Do not tick this:

  • If you are not interested in viewing the results of your students.
  • Ideal for peer-peer classrooms.
Did this answer your question?