First of all you need to decide who this assignment is for and therefore what group of users the course will be assigned to. The portal comes with 4 groups built in: All users, Admins, Educators, Students. If you've already set up some custom groups read on and if you'd like to set up custom groups and need some more information see this article on creating groups  

Courses and Assignments are different things. Assignments are snapshots of those courses at the time they were assigned. Changing the course after the assignment is issued will not change the assignment. If you assign a course and then realise there is a mistake on the course and fix it you will have to create a new assignment for users to do and start again.

Setting an Assignment 

From the dashboard: Dashboard>Assignments>Set Assignments

When you set an assignment you need to choose which course and then which group of users it goes to. Once you create the Assignment the next page will let you edit the options of the assignment before you activate it. 

  1. Deadline

    - Indefinite: Users can take however long they need to complete the Assignment

    - Exact Date: Users have until an exact date to finish for (GDPR course to be complete by May 25th 2017

    - Relative to Start: From when the users click 'Start Assignment' they have x  days to complete it
  2. Spaced Learning
    Whether or not you want users to get spaced learning quizzes created by the algorithms in our system to help them get to a passmark or prepare for an exam. For more information about Spaced Learning check out this article
  3. Completion Criteria
    A criteria to pass the assessment if "Assessment" is enabled.
  4. Assessment
    If this is enabled then you need to pick an assessment test or quiz that people need to take in order to complete the assignment. Select a pass mark for this, if Spaced Learning is enabled then the system will generate them quizzes based on what they did wrong and what they could have done better in order to get them to that pass mark.
  5. Manual Review
    Whether or not an educator will manually check the progress of the user or submitted documents to pass or fail them. Those users waiting review will appear on the educators dashboard 

Once you activate the assignment it will appear on the dashboards of those users who you have assigned it to. If you have assigned it to a group that you are in then you can 'view as a student' and see it for yourself.

Did this answer your question?